What is the Debates Committee?


The Hart House Debates Committee provides University of Toronto students opportunities to find and develop their capacity for self-knowledge and self-expression. 

It does so through organizing events in which important topics of the day are discussed and explored. These can be panel discussions, guest lectures, or more formal debating events. Whatever the format, students participate with invited speakers and panelists, both in the event itself and in the question and discussion periods which are a part of each event. These events not only provide the student population at large with opportunities for public discussion, they also give committee members and volunteers the chance to learn how to organize and promote such public discussions.

Past Speakers Include

Author Christopher Hitchens
Linguistics Professor Noam Chomsky
Former Ontario Premier Bob Rae
Green Party Leader Elizabeth May
Former Prime Minister John Turner
Former Minister of Finance ichael Wilson
Former US President John F. Kennedy
Former Minister of Foreign Affairs Bill Graham